Mary Dundas Memorial Award

Special Event Sword Dance

In the early 1960’s,  Mary Dundas of Toronto , Ontario came to Antigonish before the Games to offer dance workshops. She was one of the first teachers from outside Antigonish to develop Highland Dancing workshops for students of Highland culture. To commemorate the exceptional impact Mary Dundas had on dance students a trophy carrying her name is presented to the top premier dancer under 16 years of age for proficiency in the Sword Dance. The Sword Dance was selected to commemorate Ms. Dundas as it was her favourite dance.

Year Name Hometown
1960 Leanne Pugsley n/a
1961 Sheena Hold Toronto, ON
1962 Terri Brean Antigonish, NS
1963 Eileen Pottie Sydney, NS
1964 Eileen Pottie Sydney, NS
1965 Eileen Pottie Sydney, NS
1966 Frances Cooke n/a
1967 Janice MacQuarrie Antigonish, NS
1968 Debbie Smith Antigonish, NS
1969 Janice MacQuarrie Antigonish, NS
1970 Janice MacQuarrie Antigonish, NS
1971 Heather MacKinnin Toronto, ON
1972 Marianne Skinner Toronto, ON
1973 Julia Ann BrayBrook Toronto, ON
1974 Heather MacKinnin Toronto, ON
1975 Heather MacKinnin Toronto, ON
1976 Cheryl Verriere n/a
1977 Sherri Green New Glasgow, NS
1978 Clare Kiely Antigonish, NS
1979 Jill Young Calgary, AB
1980 Claranne Floyd Antigonish, NS
1981 Glenda Landry St. Peter’s, NS
1982 Michelle MacGillivray Antigonish, NS
1983 Danielle Trudeau Dartmouth, NS
1984 Krista Gunn Scotsburn, NS
1985 Ann Milne Owen Sound, ON
1986 Krista Gunn Scotsburn, NS
1987 Sara Cluett Port Hawkesbury, NS
1988 Sabra MacGillivray Antigonish, NS
1989 Kelly Anne Carey Halifax, NS
1990 Jennifer MacDonald Port Hawkesbury, NS
1991 Stephanie Grant Antigonish, NS
1992 Stephanie Grant Antigonish, NS
1993 Stephanie Grant Antigonish, NS
1994 Stephanie Grant Antigonish, NS
1995 Stephanie Grant Antigonish, NS
1996 Shelley Lynn Walsh Shearwater, NS
1997 Sonya Doucette Plymouth, NS
1998 Shelley Lynn Walsh Shearwater, NS
1999 Marielle Lesperance Ottawa, ON
2000 Marielle Lesperance Ottawa, ON
2001 Marielle Lesperance Ottawa, ON
2002 Marielle Lesperance Ottawa, ON
2003 Marielle Lesperance Ottawa, ON
2004 Marielle Lesperance Ottawa, ON
2005 Sarah McKenna Antigonish, NS
2006 Robin Scott Antigonish, NS
2007 Jillian MacLeod Antigonish, NS
2008 Jillian MacLeod Antigonish, NS
2009 Micayla Matthews Louisdale, NS
2010 Cornelia Geib Calgary, AB
2011 Larissa Godin Bathurst, NB
2012 Abigail Maeg Cambridge, ON
2013 Larissa Godin Bathurst, NB
2014 Morgan McDougall Whitby, ON
2015 Carly MacDonald Antigonish, NS
2016 Hannah MacDonald Stouffville, ON
From 1992 onwards, winners were presented with a wooden carved trophy